Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 227 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been working on my 55 for a few months now on and off so I thought maybe one or two of you may be interested to see some pic's.

I am rebuilding to make this car a good reliable runner the car was built in the Oakland plant and the car resided in San Francisco with one owner until 2010 when he sold it to a dealer there.

I saw it when I was looking for a 55 Chevy pick-up but stumbled upon this 4 door for a few thousand dollars, I thought I have always wanted a Tri-Chevy probably for 30 plus years but could never afford the price tag for the 2 door and SC especially when some I had seen still needed quite a lot of work if you looked past all the new shiny paint, and ventured underneath at the chassis etc.

It was nearly midnight and my wife said to me if you are interested then phone him up so after a bit of careful consideration for 1/2 second I phoned up and spoke to Ray the seller for about 30mins and the car was mine. :tu.

I had never imported a car before so I was frightened of getting ripped off and loosing the money but I had no problems having the car bought to the UK as Ray gave me the name of a good agent in London and he did everything his end and the car arrived here in October 2012, I am so grateful to Ray for making this an easy import for me.

I got the car registered with the DMV got my number plates etc drove the car about for a few miles and decided what I needed to do to make it drive how I wanted it too.

These are the things I will be doing to it.
Chassis off resto
350 crate engine
Tremec 600tko .64 5th gearbox
9" strange axle with true trac diff and f**d explorer big rear drum brakes I don't like the weak handbrake with the handbrake in the caliper disc kits.
Bilstein shocks all round
Home fabricated rear tubular shock bar