Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, got the horn working and while I was at it I noticed one leg of the turn signal canceling plate that screws into the back of the steering wheel was broken. So.. ordered the canceling mechanism and installed that. Put steering wheel back on and thought I had it on properly . I read about matching an alignment mark on the stud to the steering wheel but I could not find any such mark. Went for a test drive and the steering wheel didn"t feel right and was not on the right location(horn plate was at an angle when going straight.
No biggy, as I am an expert at taking the steering wheel off by now and I thought all I had to do was move the steering wheel to center it up properly.
Removed wheel and discovered that I had broken one of the canceling pawls and the rubber piece that contacts it also was broken. Ordered the pawl and rubber pieces yesterday so I am hoping someone can tell me how to align the steering wheel properly as I assume I had it in the wrong location and this is what broke the pawl. One other question is that I installed a new spring(below wheel) and also got a small seat that is supposed to go under spring but it was too small diameter to go over threaded stud unless I spread it so I left it out. Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,178 Posts
I may be completely wrong here. I would suggest you get a wheel alignment first this way you know everything is straight they should be able to align your steering wheel correctly I had a rebuilt front end done years ago. after all that was done and aligned . I had to take my steering wheel off to center it again.

Like I said I may be all wrong here but that's what I ha to do. Peter

·
Administrator & Tech Articles
51,746 Posts