Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a pair of gm rocker moldings for my 57 that I have been squirreling away for over 30 years. I want to install them this year but if I remember when I had the originals on the car, the stock method for attaching them, hooking on the bottom and clipping it in on the top of the trim clip was not all that boot, got caught on shoes as you got out and came off a lot. Are there any alternatives to installing them with the stock type clips?

·
Administrator
49,495 Posts
I bought what was supposedly a better set to mount them with off of eBay and they were a waste of money. I ended up using the stock type along with a studded clip on each end.
Terry

·
Registered
47 Posts
I discussed this same topic on another Chevy site just recently. I am thinking of installing the rockers on my 56 with double sided 3M molding tape. They have been using it at the factory for years and once it's on, it stays. Others said they have used it also. One suggestion was to install the clips on the molding with out the studs and put the tape on them.

·
Registered
1,745 Posts
My convt' had them on and they never once came off or loose,in fact when I took them off to re-paint I had a heckova time getting them off. I have tried using the re-pop clips and from what I have seen the metal doesn't have the same temper and they just bend when you try to push the moldings on, once they bend every retry just makes the metal weaker. Maybe two sided tape would work, or my solution is to use NOS clips when the time comes.good luck

·
Registered
2,172 Posts
I did what Terry did.
I had some problems getting them snapped over the top of the clips but an article I had said to use duckbills to bend the tabs down a little and that worked.
John

·
Premium Member
11,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·