Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Every time I get gas (fill it up or not) the inside of my wagon just reeks of gas. The smell lasts until the tank is less than 1/4 full. I've crawled all around underneath, and see no evidence of a leak. Could it be just vapor seeping out if the sending unit or filler neck? Just wondering if this is a common problem, or an easy fix. I'm new to tri-5's, but have been around muscle cars for a while.
Thanks,
Keith

·
Registered
1,568 Posts
Gas smell in wagon.

It is possible that someone ran screws into the cargo plywood to hold it down, and punctured the tank. Inspect what is under your cargo area carpet.

Driver.

·
Registered
8,251 Posts
It is possible that someone ran screws into the cargo plywood to hold it down, and punctured the tank. Inspect what is under your cargo area carpet.

Driver.
Excellent suggestion. When I put new plywood down in my '56 wagon, I was going to put extra screws in it. You know, more is always better?? Before I drilled the first hole, I realized how close the tank top was to the plywood above. Thankfully, it went no further.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
That is probably exactly what happened! When I got it the previous owner put down some funky plywood with metal strips, and secured it with long sheetmetal screws!
Don't know why I didn't think of it......

Thanks Driver! I'll be sure to report back once the issue is resolved

·
Registered
1,487 Posts
Every time I get gas (fill it up or not) the inside of my wagon just reeks of gas. The smell lasts until the tank is less than 1/4 full. I've crawled all around underneath, and see no evidence of a leak. Could it be just vapor seeping out if the sending unit or filler neck? Just wondering if this is a common problem, or an easy fix. I'm new to tri-5's, but have been around muscle cars for a while.
Thanks,
Keith