Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
RIP: 10-27-2018
3,279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new at this, I just came in from the shop where I was finishing up installing an underdash aftermarket AC system. (used) Its a GM A6 compressor with a Mark 4 evaporator and a new receiver/dryer.

I plumbed it last week and drew it down to -28 in of mercury and it held it for a week. It won't take the R134a. The compressor clutch is engaging and disengaging as it should from the switch on the evaporator. Right now it is showing +35 on the low side. I don't have a high side reading at the moment. I came in in frustration.

Any suggestions?

·
Premium Member
7,740 Posts
I'm fairly new at this, I just came in from the shop where I was finishing up installing an underdash aftermarket AC system. (used) Its a GM A6 compressor with a Mark 4 evaporator and a new receiver/dryer.

I plumbed it last week and drew it down to -28 in of mercury and it held it for a week. It won't take the R134a. The compressor clutch is engaging and disengaging as it should from the switch on the evaporator. Right now it is showing +35 on the low side. I don't have a high side reading at the moment. I came in in frustration.

Any suggestions?
I am confused, if it is showing 35 PSI on the low side, something has to be in the system to give you the reading of 35 PSI.

has it taken any cans of Freon at all?
how many cans of Freon or OZ does your instructions call for?

I am bye no means a expert at A/C, but i just spent a week dialing in my new Vintage A/C Gen 4 system with some help of bowtie-trifive members, and needles to say i have learned allot about the new R134A.

The first thing is the R134a is very sensitive to heat and pressure unlike the old R12 that is way more forgiving.