Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gentlemen and Ladies,
I have an inherited '57 210. When driving the car it drifts to the left, nothing dramatic, until I put on the breaks and then there is a sharp turn to the left.
I spoke to my mechanic and he stated that it needed an alignment before he could adjust the brakes.
Does this make any sense to you and if so, what do you think the best steps to follow would be. Could it be another problem we are unaware of or something I can investigate?
Also I would like to learn how to do a brake job/adjustment (I am a novice mechanic). Do you know where step-by-step instructions would be.
Thank You All for your time.
I appreciate all your efforts!

Jeff

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
I think he is looking for more money... Of course you can do brake jobs without alignment. Drifting to the left might be a dragging brake because of out of adjustment or a saturated shoe because of a leaking wheel cylinder.They will grab like crazy when brakes are stepped on.Do the brake job first then alignment. If he won't do it go find another mechanic.

·
Registered
1,470 Posts
Gentlemen and Ladies,
I have an inherited '57 210. When driving the car it drifts to the left, nothing dramatic, until I put on the breaks and then there is a sharp turn to the left.
I spoke to my mechanic and he stated that it needed an alignment before he could adjust the brakes.
Does this make any sense to you and if so, what do you think the best steps to follow would be. Could it be another problem we are unaware of or something I can investigate?
Also I would like to learn how to do a brake job/adjustment (I am a novice mechanic). Do you know where step-by-step instructions would be.

Jeff
Brakes are one of the easiest things on your car to fix and as Suede said, it is your problem.

·
Registered
8,875 Posts
Gentlemen and Ladies,

Jeff
I give the mechanic a break here.