Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gentlemen and Ladies,
Just a quick question since I am new at this restoration stuff...
I have seen many '57 cars online that state they are Bel Airs but they have the short crown molding on the fin. They even have the Bel Air script on the aluminum insert. My question is... did the Bel Air come with a short crown molding? or is there some misrepresentation afoot?
Also I have a '57 210, would it be out of the wrong (I don't want to offend '57ers) for me to use the aluminum insert with a Chevrolet script? I am not trying to make anyone believe it is a Bel Air... it is just that I like the aluminum insert cosmetically, same goes for the hub caps with spinners.
Thanks

Jeff

·
Registered
2,587 Posts
If it has a short crown molding on the fin, there's a 99.9% chance it is a 210. Bel Airs always came with the full length molding with no exceptions.

As for you doing the stainless insert, do what you like to your car. There aren't any snobs to worry about in this community when it comes to things like that (for the most part). Just don't make a shorty or Bel-Camino.... :sign0020:

·
Administrator
49,472 Posts
The only sure way to tell is by the VIN. If it has an "A" before the year it is a 150 model. If a "B" it is a 210 model. And if it has a "C" it is a Bel Air.

And no, no Bel Airs came with short crown molding.
Terry

·
Administrator
49,472 Posts
Also I have a '57 210, would it be out of the wrong (I don't want to offend '57ers) for me to use the aluminum insert with a Chevrolet script? I am not trying to make anyone believe it is a Bel Air... it is just that I like the aluminum insert cosmetically,
Jeff personally i see nothing wrong with it as long as someone isn`t trying to pass the additions off as real.
Terry

·
Registered
459 Posts