Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Forgive me, I'm a newb and may not use the correct terminology.

Been working off and on with my 57 HT. So, I discover that it has been wrecked at some point on the left front. The frame is slightly bent/tweaked on that side, such that the place where the bumper mounts is not aligned correctly (it didn't have bumpers on it when I bought it - they came with it but were removed). I also found some welding on the frame right about where the front of the left control arms mount.

So, am I screwed? I want to do the car right and have been going back and forth in my head about using the stock frame (with mods) versus just buying an aftermarket frame.

I'll try to get some pics.

·
Registered
11,220 Posts
Pics will help us determine the location and the severity and ease your pain.

·
Administrator
49,962 Posts
I also found some welding on the frame right about where the front of the left control arms mount.
Are you talking about in front or behind the A-arms? There was some welding visible on the frame from the factory. Is it a 1pc. frame or a 2pc. frame? On a 1 pc frame it almost looks like the frame was wrecked and repaired right behind the A-arms. How about some pics of the area you are talking about
Terry

·
Registered
3,493 Posts
Not jumping to conclusions here, just wanted to say there are lots of good used original frames for sale. You don't only need to consider an after market or modified frame.

Don

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Are you talking about in front or behind the A-arms? There was some welding visible on the frame from the factory. Is it a 1pc. frame or a 2pc. frame? On a 1 pc frame it almost looks like the frame was wrecked and repaired right behind the A-arms. How about some pics of the area you are talking about
Terry