Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do i get the entire body off the frame? I dont know how much rust the frame has so i wanna take the body off of it to to figure it out?

I know this sounds dumb but its my first time restoring a car lol :D

·
Registered
6,486 Posts
Hick welcome,
Disconnect everything, remove all body parts, reinforce door openings,esp on verts and HTs.
Lift slowly and then disconnect the things you missed. Use jacks, cherry picker, 4x4s, blocks, 4 guys and it is an easy project.
with the 4x4s long enough you can pull the chassis out. Have fun and good luck.
I did mine with two floor jacks and my brother helping, it was tough but doable.
Jim

·
Registered
5,939 Posts
If this is the first time restoring a car, ask yourself if this is what you really want to do and what your goal is. You can pretty much evaluate the whole frame with the body on the car. If there is body work (rusted floorpans, etc.) that need replacing and taking it off the frame will help in the replacement, then that's a feasable reason.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If this is the first time restoring a car, ask yourself if this is what you really want to do and what your goal is. You can pretty much evaluate the whole frame with the body on the car. If there is body work (rusted floorpans, etc.) that need replacing and taking it off the frame will help in the replacement, then that's a feasable reason.
Thanks TJ. Hey seeing you live in my area, do you know of any shops that can do all that for me? We need the whole floor to be replaced including the truck. I found a new flow that includes the trunk. I would attempt to do it myself but i dont have any of the right tools and dont know anyone with any knowledge of car restoration.

·
RIP: 10-27-2018
3,279 Posts
How do i get the entire body off the frame? I dont know how much rust the frame has so i wanna take the body off of it to to figure it out?