Chevy Tri Five Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
56 Bel Air, 265 w/Rochester 2bbl. Can anyone point me towards a new carb float? The local parts guys just laugh, and I don't find a source in any of the vendors' online catalogues. Mine sank today and left me stranded. I've emptied it and resoldered, the car runs good, but I don't have confidence in it now. THANKS - Stan

·
Registered
6,404 Posts
Have you checked with NAPA? They don't usually laugh at me and they can sometimes find some hard-to-find parts. I also had some luck with PepBoys, but maybe I just found the right guy who knew how to look things up in the books! It helps if you've got the number off the carb.

I did a quick google search and found lots of hits for Rochester Carburetor Parts.

·
Registered
258 Posts
i used to work part time as a parts guy at a big chain. (parts america) your best bet is just to ask to take a look in their carb book. most of the ones we had went back that far. just try to find a number to give the guy behind the counter. this usually works for me. just thought you might try that.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Guys, I appreciate the responses, but still no luck. A friend at the Carquest store in Apex, NC is looking, but he says it doesn't look good unless I can find a used float. I want to keep this shoebox as stock as possible, but are there later model 2bbl Rochesters that would work & have better parts availability? THANKS - Stan

·
Registered
289 Posts
I believe you need to go to NAPA. I think the factory part # is 7000273 and the NAPA # is CRB2470 for the brass one. The NAPA # is MPF3FL19 for the plastic one.

If you will post your carb #'s I can double check, but i'm sure that is the float you need. NAPA should have a paper catalog with pictures

Not to knock anyone, but if the kids at these parts houses can't punch it up on a computer they will say they don't have it.