Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Premium Member
974 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Brand new, Concept One steering box in my 55 chev. I am using the stock control arms and all other stock 55 parts. I have been told that I have a problem with the caster adjustment. I have no knowledge of the steeing system on these old cars
The problem is staight line driving especially on couyntry roads. I have been told that one of the fixes is to remove the top control arms and replace the cross shafts with aftermarket cross shafts that allow for the amount of caster to fix my problem. Does anyone know if this is true? Also is there another fix besides doing this? Need to know can't drive the car the way it is.

Lastly, is there a way of removing the top control arms and keeping the coil springs in place without loosing them?

Gary

·
Premium Member
628 Posts
Can you be more specific, does it pull or wander. Do you have any alignment readings maybe the caster readings?

·
Trifive Automotive Electrical Wiring Expert
27,027 Posts
Yes, an alignment shop will usually give you a printout of the adjustments. True, you usually need offset shafts or tubular upper control arms to get enough caster for power steering. You can change the upper arms without removing the springs.

·
Administrator & Tech Articles
51,751 Posts

·
Premium Member
974 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
55 front end wander

Can you be more specific, does it pull or wander. Do you have any alignment readings maybe the caster readings?
Well the guy that I had helping me who is very sharp but difficult to get to come and help, while on a test drive showed me that the steering wheel had a litle play left to right while driving. He then took the car over a rise and when the car went up and over the crest of the hill when it came down,....it wandered left then right, then setled down