Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I bought the CPP front/rear disc brake kit with drop spindles. I am ready to pack the front bearings and put the rotors on and I got to thinking: Isn't there supposed to be a seal that goes on the back of the rotor to seal the inside bearing? I have none in my kit.

If you look at the pictures of CPP's site it shows seals for this purpose (similair looking to pinion seals). I found some instructions on CPP's site and it says nothing about seals for the inside bearing INSTRUCTIONS It just says to slide the inside bearing on, then the rotor, then outside bearing, etc.

There has to be something there to keep the elements out of the inside bearing as it rides up against the shoulder of the spindle.

Anyone? I have never done front bearings before, but this just seems like common sense, especially since they are shown in the sales picture, yet the instructions don't say squat about it. AND, the rotor appears to be machined to fit a seal of that sort.

Frustrated.

·
Trifive Automotive Electrical Wiring Expert
27,084 Posts
Yes, you have to have a seal behind the rear bearing. Grease will sling all over the rotor as well as dirt will kill the bearing. I don't like the idea of installing a greased bearing and then putting the caliper bracket on, either. Picture 3 and 4 of the instructions. I have always put the greased bearing in the rotor, tap the seal in the rotor and then slideing it on the spindle. I don't see how you could get the seal in the rotor if you put it on the spindle first. Send a PM to "cpptech".
You gotta have a seal. :confused0006:

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·