Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening Gentlemen,
I'm new to the Tri-Five Forum but not to Classic Cars. I had a 1963 Impala SS convertible for 20 years and I know that both the Trim Tag and the Vin Number indicated that the car was manufactured at the GM plant in St. Louis. I'm now looking to purchase a beautiful Harbor Blue 1957 Bel Air Convertible with a light blue convertible top that is in beautiful condition BUT: The Vin Tag on the door shows VC 57 J for Janesville, WI while the trim tag on the firewall shows BODY No "L 20056" indicating the Lansing, Michigan Fisher Body Plant. The rest of the trim tag agrees with the actual car indicating TRIM-679 (LL Blue Vinyl w/Med blue Pattern Vinyl) PAINT--796 (Harbor Blue) and under ACC. "Blu Top" "EZ1".

Another problem I noticed is that the vehicle is a 283 with only a 2 barrel carburetor while the stamping pad indicates F214FG which indicates that it was assembled on Feb 14 in Flint, Michigan but the "FG" code indicates that the block was originally used as a 283 V8 w/Dual 4BC, with Powerglide. The lady I am buying it from (Husband passed last Sept) stated that her husband had purchased the car at a car auction in Atlantic City, NJ as a numbers matching car and when he later found out that this was not true he sued the seller in court and actually won a settlement, for how much I don't know. My question to you knowledgeable folks is since I know that the previous owner was a wheeler dealer, should I be fearful of this also being a stolen car with a Vin Tag Swap since the VIN TAG says "JANESVILLE" and the COWL TAG says "LANSING" Tire Wheel Vehicle Car Hood
Vehicle Car Automotive lighting Hood Motor vehicle
Motor vehicle Automotive tire Bumper Font Automotive exterior

IS THERE ANY WHERE ELSE ON THE VEHICLE WHERE THE VIN NUMBER WOULD BE STAMPED SO I CAN DOUBLE CHECK AND POSSIBLY ELIVIATE MY CONCERNS.