Chevy Tri Five Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to the tri-five world and I would like some advice. I just bought a 55 210 post car. Thing's pretty clean but when I took the passanger door down to bare metal (using 80 gr sand paper on a d/a sander) I found what it appears to me like shotgun bb holes on the door. 57 to be exact. They were covered by filler or bondo so I ping'd them out. Now I want to fix these holes but I am not sure how to do that. I do not want to replace the door skin! I would like to cover them, fill them with either fiber glass or whatever. But I am new to body work and bondo. Any educated suggestions on how to repair this problem? My other concern is that I want to take the entire car to bare metal to see what I am dealing with, do I Walnut shell blast it, or do I continue to use the D/A sander? I have never blasted anything before so I was told to use walnutshell blast it, that it is less harsh on the metal and harder to warp it. In a "nut shell" I would like to know what steps and where to start first with this car. I am not planning on getting it painted for some time. It is just a shell at this point. Should I take small portions of the car to bare metal than self etch prime it so I can see what is under that old yellow paint? The car has spent most it's time in AZ and that is where I live, but there is some rust hols (little ones) and the dude that owned it b4 myself cut the crap out of the trunk pan. This car will be a full on custom ride so I am not worried about numbers and all that. I would appreciate any experianced, educated assistance with my dilema. I kinda don't know where to start and what is the first step I should take with this car.
Thanx
Jason PX AZ:eek:

·
Registered
4,668 Posts