Chevy Tri Five Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7,419 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm not sure what year Chevy quit offering a dual quad setup on their sbc, but I believe they started in 1956. From 1956 to when stopped, what carb. could you expect to find on a dual quad setup?? Rochester 4GC or maybe a WCFB?? Were there any others?? Was this setup offered up until 1961 on the Corvette?? Just wondering. Thanks, Carmine.

·
Registered
550 Posts
Carmine, while I am no expert on the tri-fives and early Corvettes it is my understanding that the dual four carb option was first offered in '56 as you mentioned and remained available up to '61 on cars and 'Vettes both. From what I have found is the '56 dual carb intake is it's own stand alone intake casting number 3731394. In '57 GM produced the 3739653 dual carb intake to fix an idle problem and float bowl starvation on hard turns. I have the 3739653 intake on my 57 and as far as I know only the Carter WCFB carbs were used for the dual four option. Hope some others may chime in with more info than what I have. As mentioned I am FAR from an expert on these tri-fives but I love'm all.

·
Registered
472 Posts
Hi everyone, I'm not sure what year Chevy quit offering a dual quad setup on their sbc, but I believe they started in 1956. From 1956 to when stopped, what carb. could you expect to find on a dual quad setup?? Rochester 4GC or maybe a WCFB?? Were there any others?? Was this setup offered up until 1961 on the Corvette?? Just wondering. Thanks, Carmine.
1956 to 1961 is correct, Carter WCFB only. 56 were an early design with an idle bypass air circuit. They changed it in 57 and stuck with that design ever since. I won’t go too in depth otherwise, but there’s two different versions of the carbs 57+ for the solid lifter versus hydraulic lifter applications. They’re the superior carb verse the Rochester’s. WCFB stands for Will Carter Four Barrel, and is the inventor of the 4 barrel carb.

·
Registered