Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a complete newbie to this stuff. It appears my car was raced by a previous owner and many things seem to be missing... I took some photos and typed a couple questions about where brackets should be etc... Could anybody confirm and help me out? Thanks for any info anybody can offer...

The photos can be viewed here...

http://56bowtie.blogspot.com/

John

·
Registered
103 Posts
Welcome to Trifive! http://www.trifive.com/garage/56%20Chevy%20Assembly%20Manual/5-6.gifThe link is to the assembly manual's page on the parking brake. It shows the center pivot fairly well. Yes you are missing a bracket for the cable. Where it looks like something was removed, my '55 has a bracket attached to the frame that extends about 8 inches for an exhaust hanger. Hope this helps, Jesse
Edit: the exhaust hanger is further forward on the frame, so I don't know what was removed-probably not a stock part

·
Administrator
49,959 Posts
Welcome to Tri Five. I can`t tell which floor brace is pictured but if it is the center one then yes that is where the e-brake brackets go, one on each side of the tunnel.
Terry

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks jh1955! Bob had sent me a tech article which showed a different angle of the same things. (Thanks Bob!) I'm glad to know I have the locations pinpointed. How can I fix that bent bracket, and how do I get a new one for the other side? Do I need to have one made up and welded on? Sorry for all the questions, like I said, I'm pretty new to all of this.

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks Terry! So I'm assuming I need to remove the driveshaft loop? I guess that thing is for racing and is not on most cars?

John

68,758 Posts
:hello: hi john and welcome. good to have you here. might want to get yourself a assembly and shop manuals (if you don't have). will come in handy.

·
Registered
168 Posts