Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so im building a custom resto-mod 56 mad and im contimplating installing a sunroof in it. not a cheap pop up type but using one out of a newer lexus or so. id cut the roof right off a car in a yard and fab it to the roof of the mad. i do collision work for a living and i have installed roofs b4 so i know i can tackle the project. im just wondering if anyone has ever seen a mad w a nicely put in sunroof? and also how did they work the headliner since one of the bows would be right in the way. any pics would be appreciated so i can make sure b4 i get the sawzaw out :)

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
I wish I could give you mine. I never use it. The Ultra Luxury model has a full length tempered glass roof with 2 sunroofs.

·
Registered
1,960 Posts
Think it through.

so im building a custom resto-mod 56 mad and im contimplating installing a sunroof in it. not a cheap pop up type but using one out of a newer lexus or so. id cut the roof right off a car in a yard and fab it to the roof of the mad. i do collision work for a living and i have installed roofs b4 so i know i can tackle the project. im just wondering if anyone has ever seen a mad w a nicely put in sunroof? and also how did they work the headliner since one of the bows would be right in the way. any pics would be appreciated so i can make sure b4 i get the sawzaw out :)
386, unless you're going full-blown custom, I'd think the sun-roof thing through. It's been my experience that a sun-roof in a classic actually diminishes the value of it. I've seen some nice custom jobs where it didn't make a difference because they were so heavily modified nobody thought anything about it. If you're not really really modifying the car, I wouldn't cut into the roof. Good Luck with whichever way you go. :anim_25: JMHO. JIM.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·