Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
483 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Texas is a two plate state and recent court precedent has it that the plate in front MUST be on the bumper (not in the window, behind the grill etc). There is no stock front mount for a 57 3100 as in 57 there were no two plate states - and contrary to poular belief ther is no grace on this (except antique plates which don'r allow daily driving) now you can get the parts from dealers for most cars made after 72, but I am not too keen on drilling my pretty chrome original equip bumper - nor making a plate bracket that is not stock and authentic for shows. Any ideas on a removeable bracket that can be relied on not to leave the plate at the side of the road somewhere - yet still comes off easily at the show?

ALSO - SEATBELTS - Although exempt (state law requires wearing them if installed and defines installed as post 1972 year models or any vehicle in which there are factory mounts - or an adequately reinforced method of mounting. I am a believer in seat belts - The laps I can handle by welding a channel across the bottom of the pan, but the B pillar has no way to mount the shoulder - properly reinforced (can't get behind the sheet metal to install a plate). Any ideas here?
 

·
Trifive Facebook Admin
Joined
·
10,611 Posts
Not going to be much help on the plates, but someone with a truck should answer up. Regarding the seats I would contact Julianos about it, bet they have an answer.


Randy
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37,981 Posts
hal396 posted a link to a place that sells flip down license plate frames in the current thread about texas plates.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
689 Posts
I registered my '55 sedan last October as a "classic" . Only 1 plate was issued to me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,392 Posts
Texas is a two plate state and recent court precedent has it that the plate in front MUST be on the bumper (not in the window, behind the grill etc). There is no stock front mount for a 57 3100 as in 57 there were no two plate states - and contrary to poular belief ther is no grace on this (except antique plates which don'r allow daily driving) now you can get the parts from dealers for most cars made after 72, but I am not too keen on drilling my pretty chrome original equip bumper - nor making a plate bracket that is not stock and authentic for shows. Any ideas on a removeable bracket that can be relied on not to leave the plate at the side of the road somewhere - yet still comes off easily at the show?

ALSO - SEATBELTS - Although exempt (state law requires wearing them if installed and defines installed as post 1972 year models or any vehicle in which there are factory mounts - or an adequately reinforced method of mounting. I am a believer in seat belts - The laps I can handle by welding a channel across the bottom of the pan, but the B pillar has no way to mount the shoulder - properly reinforced (can't get behind the sheet metal to install a plate). Any ideas here?
Sounds like if you run the antique tag on the the back that's all you need. That's what I did in Washington State for years (it's a two plate state as well). Never had an issue. As far as the seat belt goes, do the stock style lap belt and nix the shoulder belt idea. No sweat...:cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
156 Posts
jwmbishop, Sorry and don't know were you got your information but in 1957 there were more than one "Two Plate" states. Texas was one of those two plate states. I was born in Texas and while I was only 12 in 1957 i seem to remember my dad putting on new plates each and every year, Back then in the good old days in Texas you got new plates every year, No Stickers.

Here is a picture taken right after the Tornado of 1957 that hit Oak Cliff right across the river from Dallas. Notice the Ford in that picture is wearing a front plate.

Roland
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
483 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Well I am a transplant - going by discussion with other guys - and knowing how Texas law does not allow new laws to lasso back I guess I fell for it! (ain't the first time I been taken snipe hunting)

thanks for the info though - I am certainly gonna be able to fix it! Don't want the antique plates - law says with Antique Plates you can only drive from home to Parade, organised show, mechanic etc (and insurance if you have Antique plates - note on the policy coverage that if it says anywhere "limited Mileage, limited driving etc - they can deny in a wreck if you can't show you were in compliance) - that pretty much excludes a Saturday night run to the local burger shop, or the drive-in which we do often, or as a daily to and from work - which I do when the weather is nice (all five minutes - lol) - and well the cops around here (good hard working folks that they are) are trying their best to keep the fragile city budget from failing so I do not risk their attention for anything!

cal55 - thx for the link - I noted your recently viewed included a guage - I have the entire set in good shape (I used the bezel only in my setup - glass and back plate are in real good shape PM if interested.

I figgur with the belts I'll do just seat for now - and when I rerestore in a couple years with the glass out I can make a slice and slide a plate in the pillar - should clean up nice and with repaint will look good.

thanks guys - you're a real helpful bunch!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
843 Posts
In Texas "Antique"registration has restrictions. "Classic" registration has no restrictions just a lower fee for vehicles 25 years and older.

Insurance has nothing to do with which registration you choose. Check your insurance policy and if it doesn't meet your needs then shop around for a policy that does.

For instance, my policy says I'm covered for participation in vehicle exhibitions, vehicle club activities, parades, leisure/pleasure drives or maintenance.

So I am covered for the trip to the burger place on Friday night. The only restrictions I have are don't drive to work, or school or on business. I don't work, go to school or conduct business.

If you have "Classic" registration you can drive to work and the state won't mind. You may just have to shop around for insurance that will let you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37,981 Posts
Agree that insurance doesn't connect to registration. But if you elect "antique" registration with its restrictions, you should purchase insurance that has similar restrictions, it will be cheaper.

Likewise for "classic", there's little value in having insurance that has restrictions similar to "antique" if you have the classic regsistration.

In other words you should both insure and register for the way you intend to use the car.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
483 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Interesting - my insurance guy is the one who pointed that out to me - he asked did I register as Antique and I told him no - he told me if I had that its a separate line item to remove "limited mileage" from the antique policy - adds like 7 bucks to the six month policy. According to him - with Antique registration it defaults to the co-responding policy unless the adjustment is made. But they asked me how many miles I drive it and we actually got a better rate by using the 3000 a year that I do (or rather will) drive vs no mileage adjustment. And for 5 bucks got the stated value high enough to make sure I would'nt get screwed on any post wreck appraisal.

But I will look into the classic registration - thx for the tip, I also have an 86 C10 that falls in there as well (next renewal)!
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top