Chevy Tri Five Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been driving for the last 15 years on elect fuel pumps. Ok.... Car sits,,, turn on the pumps,,,pump gas, and engine fires. I'm recently on my second car in last two months with mech pump(s). They both seem to starve for fuel if they sit for more than 2 days. Engine has to crank and I have to pump the gas like crazy in order for the engine to start. Do the mech pumps suck fuel out of carb bowl when sitting? These are both Edelbrock Carter AFB style. I've tried an Omega loop...no luck. Does anyone sell a fuel filter with a check valve??. This is driving me nuts..........

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Dave,, for the most part, most of the line is 3/8" steel. I took out the temporary Omega loop hose. Still perplexed......

·
Registered
4,668 Posts
I had a couple of Q-jets that acted like that.Some one once mentioned that there were plugs in the bottom of the fuel bowl (float bowl) that could allow the fuel to leak out causing the hard starting.
Dave

·
Registered
641 Posts
The Eddy/AFB didn't have the same problem with the casting plugs leaking like the Q Jets. (Epoxy fixes that problem right up on a Q Jet though ... ;) )

Even the smallest leak/crack in a fuel line can cause the fuel to drain back out of the carb. Mechanical fuel pumps can also cause this if they are tired.

Stock Q Jets have a tiny check valve in the fuel filter to help prevent bowl siphoning. I'm not sure if the Eddy/AFB has the same type of setup.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks for your response Don, I appreciate it. I couldn't find a leak. I also don't know how tired the pump might be either. I do know it has 2,600 miles on it. Seems like a decent fix might be a fuel filter with a built in check valve, but I can't seem to find one. Summit, Jegs, etc. Or a check valve only.....??

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·