Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just purchased a 56 and I'm new to restoration with beginner knowledge. I have a heater control lever missing (one on the dash plate that sets the heater temperature not the floor to defrost). I can put in a new arm and cable, but how do I know it is not a relay as well I need to purchase? If the heater seems to be putting out heat and defrost, and it does and seems to adjust floor to defrost, to some degree - does that mean the heater relay is OK? If so, I'll just get a lever and cable.

·
Registered
37,250 Posts
There's no relay except on the fan circuit, unrelated to the levers. One vertical lever operates the heater valve, the other moves a flapper door from heat only to defrost only. The horizontal one is for fresh air/no fresh air.

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Fan works so I don't need to order any relay. All else is present except lever for heat level and cable. Does the cable attach directly to a point on the heater or where? Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
PICT1849.jpg

Is this what you need to see?

Eugene

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the pic. I will get out to look at things in the car as weather and time permit here. I appreciate the help.

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
Thanks for the pic. I will get out to look at things in the car as weather and time permit here. I appreciate the help.
No problem.....the cable you see in the pic I sent is the cable that operates that flapper door that Rick L was telling you about.

Eugene

·
Trifive Automotive Electrical Wiring Expert
27,022 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Diagrams and schematics like that are very helpful to a limited knowledge guy like me who is also just getting started with a TriFive project.

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·