Chevy Tri Five Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Actually not "brand new" as I did own a '57 150 2dr. back in 1961. Replaced the 6cyl. with a 283 bored out to 301 c.i., Corvette 3 spd., 411 gears and Atlas Bucrons. Boy did that thing run! Hate to admit it, but we did a lot of street racing....stop light to stop light. I'll never forget the Friday night my dad yanked me out of bed shortly after midnight, giving me a stern lecture and taking the keys to the '57 for two weeks. Back in those days we didn't ask questions, but two weeks later when he returned the keys I asked him how he knew I was street racing. His reply was "did you forget what I do for a living?" He was a railroad engineer making his last commuter run out of Chicago to Barrington, Illinois and the railroad tracks ran right along Northwest Hwy. where I was doing my light to light racing after leaving Skips in Roselle that fateful night. He spotted the black 150 with spun alum. discs. Not hard to do as it was the only one like it in our area.
I'm now the proud owner of my second '57..... another 150 2dr. My wife couldn't understand why I wanted a "base model". Fond memories maybe?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the "welcomes".....

Glad I stumbled upon this site! Found a lot of helpful info already. Yes, Mike, that's exactly where I bought the Bucrons.....our local Standard gas station. The guy was filling my tank when he motioned to the big plate glass window where he had a few tires on display. He said "son you need a set of Bucrons on the rear of this thing." A few more pay checks from my after school job at the A&P and I was back for the Bucrons. He fixed me up with the biggest set that would fit in the wheel wells.

·
Administrator
1957 Bel Air sport sedan
8,827 Posts