Chevy Tri Five Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. My name is Don and I am new to the site and I am also new to owning a Chevy Bel Air. About a month ago I purchased a 57 Chevy Bel Air. It was a personal transaction. Previous owner took amazing care of this vehicle and all it needed was an oil change and a new ignition switch as the current one would not lock and the car could be started without using the key. Car had NO issues at all prior to taking it to the garagae and I had ben driving it for the past month very regularly.

I took the vehicle to a local garage who does work on older vehicles and has a very good track record. I had an oil change and the new ignition switch installed. Upon getting the vehicle home, I quickly noticed that my radio, inside dome light and headlamps were ALL not working.

This WAS NOT an issue at all before. The car does have a generator and was upgraded to 12V. I am not a mechanic and not sure what other information may be important. Can someone please help me in trouble shooting why after the install of the new ignition switch would cause ALL of my interior and exterior lights not to work. Thank you so much. Don!

·
Trifive Automotive Electrical Wiring Expert
26,424 Posts
Welcome to TRI-FIVE!!!
It sounds like you have a bad connection on the red wire on the ignition switch. It feeds power to the headlights and fuse panel. Link to ignition switch. http://www.trifive.com/garage/57%20Chevy%20Assembly%20Manual/12-7.gif It's the switch at the bottom of the page for left drive cars. It may be the plug is not on the back of the switch good, or the red wire terminal backed out of the plug when they pushed it on the switch.

·
Registered
19,595 Posts
WELCOME