Chevy Tri Five Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Administrator
9,084 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yep, I am still a live.

Here is a couple of quiz questions

Thought a little quiz would help. If you have questions post them here so we can keep the quiz going if you guys want.

MY background is the US Military.

1. On the main flag pole of a military post their is a copper ball on top of the flag pole. So the question is what is that ball called and what is in it, and second what is buried under the flag pole.

2. What is the single word that soldiers are barred from using while on the ( radio ) talking to other soldiers.

3. What are 4 places that the American Flag flays 24 hours a day and is never taken down.

·
Registered
2,271 Posts
I’ll take a shot. I do remember the old flag pole story which if my memory serves me correct, was just a myth. The story goes that the finial ball on top, which I believe is more commonly made of brass, contains a razor blade, matches and a bullet. The last man a live was to use the razor to cut the flag away, use the matches to burn the flag and the bullet was to be put into the gun buried at the base of the pole to kill himself. I am not familiar with the word not spoken over the radio. I look forward to this answer. As far as the flag flying 4 hours a day. This can only be done under congressional authorization or by presidential proclamation. I believe today, there are now well over four locations. Few years back, all US Ports of Entry where authorized. We have a number of sites in the DC area. The White House, the 50 flags that encircle the base of the Washington monument, the US Marine Corp memorial, Fort McHenry and the Star Spangle Banner house in Baltimore. I have also been to the Betty Ross house and Valley Forge that both claim they have authorization as well. It does remind of the old joke about the US flags that will never fly at half mast. The ones on the moon, on US currency and I don’t remember the other two.

·