Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 57 Bel Air with a 77" 350 small block on it. I replaced the coil and have a question about the wiring.

Originally the wire from the R spot on the starter ran to the positive side of the coil, then the negative side had a wire to the distributer and then a really skinny wire that goes through the firewall over to the fuse box where it is wrapped around the parking brake and not connected to anything.

My first question is - where should that skinny wire be connected and what is its purpose?

Second the new coil says on it "use with resister - does the resister (r) connection on the starter count? Or do I need to purchase a part for this - if so which one?

Note:I am new to this but it appears the distributer and coil were stock and non hei.

Please and thanks on the help, if you need additional info or want pics just ask.

Thanks.

·
Trifive Automotive Electrical Wiring Expert
27,022 Posts
I have a 57 Bel Air with a 77" 350 small block on it. I replaced the coil and have a question about the wiring.

Originally the wire from the R spot on the starter ran to the positive side of the coil, then the negative side had a wire to the distributer and then a really skinny wire that goes through the firewall over to the fuse box where it is wrapped around the parking brake and not connected to anything.

My first question is - where should that skinny wire be connected and what is its purpose?

Second the new coil says on it "use with resister - does the resister (r) connection on the starter count? Or do I need to purchase a part for this - if so which one?

Note:I am new to this but it appears the distributer and coil were stock and non hei.

Please and thanks on the help, if you need additional info or want pics just ask.

Thanks.
The skinny wire was probably for a aftermarker tachometer. It's not needed.