Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 207 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I originally planned to upgrade my stock suspension with a RideTech kit and Wilwood big brakes. But now I'm questioning if this upgrade alone will get the performance I would like. I have been driving Corvettes for many years and I have become attached to performance handling and brakes. So, I have been researching performance chassis. I've come up with 3 options. I configured all 3 to do an apples-to-apples comparison. These prices include tax and shipping.

1. Metalworks AME complete chassis ($37,700)
2. Real Deal Steel ($28,534)
3. Hardcore Chassis ($27,300)

The cost to install the RideTech suspension and Wilwood brakes is $16,259. So, it comes down to a minimum cost of $11,000 to upgrade the chassis.

My question is this: Is an aftermarket chassis worth the $11,000 cost?

By the way, the Hardcore chassis looks almost identical to the AME chassis. It is built by a small shop with low overhead. It comes powder coated with a complete fuel system, brake lines, rear housing and axles. Here's a photo.

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive design Bicycle handlebar Automotive exterior

·
Registered
823 Posts
I did my chassis with a RR Frames conversion painted frame and easily bolted on the complete stock 1996 C4 suspension for around only $8500 and it drives and handles great. It's like driving a big Corvette and weighs the same. Getting the chassis built into a roller was the easiest part of my build.

Attachments

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did my chassis with a RR Frames conversion painted frame and easily bolted on the complete stock 1996 C4 suspension for around only $8500 and it drives and handles great. It's like driving a big Corvette and weighs the same. Getting the chassis built into a roller was the easiest part of my build.