Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
8,255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I was at a car show/cruise in last night and saw alot of great looking cars. Spoke with several friends and the topic of paint came up. Since I have an interest in painting my '64 SS in the future, I paid close attention. I heard mentioned from one fellow, that he saw some very nice paint jobs come out of the local Maaco shop. He claims that for $2000.00-$3000.00 you can get a real decent paint job from them. Maybe like several of you, I've heard good and bad about Maaco. They don't sand very well, paint over emblems, don't apply much paint, etc. Also heard for the money, they can't be beat. I have no direct experience with them. I've only seen their finished product from a distance. I don't even recall talking to anyone who had their car painted there. I don't believe I would have my very rare car worth big bucks painted at Maaco, but what if you went over a game plan, what was expected from them, prior to the paint?? Is this a reasonable/logical approach. Has any member had their car painted there or do they know of someone who did?? Their experiences?? Thank you, Carmine.

·
Registered
2,578 Posts
i would not want my classic shoved into an oven . plus pay close attention to what paint is being used.
that being said the guy in the booth is usually a very good gun hand. they spend all day pulling the trigger. it's the rest of maaco that screws everything up .

·
Registered
7,892 Posts