Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Master cylinder bore size

Hello. I have an aftermarket master cylinder on my 1955 210 that I think was bought from danchuk by the previous owner. I had my brakes fail a couple weeks ago. I bled the lines and no air came out. I removed the master cylinder and the rear resivor was a bit rusty and had some grime in it. So I pulled the master off and took it apart. The cylinder looks good except for some pitting in the very back of it and the caps inside were pitted. All the seals looked good. I have been trying to find a rebuild kit but I can't. So I was gonna buy a new one. My question is should I get a 1" bore size or a 1 1/8" bore size. It has a brake booster I believe also from you. Disks up front and drums in rear. 17149 17150 are the part numbers for the master cylinders I am looking at. The one I have now is 17149. The booster I have is part number 16645. Any info will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hello. I have an aftermarket master cylinder on my 1955 210 that I think was bought from danchuk by the previous owner. I had my brakes fail a couple weeks ago. I bled the lines and no air came out. I removed the master cylinder and the rear resivor was a bit rusty and had some grime in it. So I pulled the master off and took it apart. The cylinder looks good except for some pitting in the very back of it and the caps inside were pitted. All the seals looked good. I have been trying to find a rebuild kit but I can't. So I was gonna buy a new one. My question is should I get a 1" bore size or a 1 1/8" bore size. It has a brake booster I believe also from danchuk. Disks up front and drums in rear. 17149 17150 are the part numbers for the master cylinders I am looking at. The one I have now is 17149. The booster I have is part number 16645. Any info will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
646 Posts