Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

First of all I want to say thank you for all the people who have helped me out with past questions. I am not very good at computer stuff and I consistently fail at the search function so if these questions have been answered before please forgive me.

I have a 55 only 265 non oil-filter engine. I pulled it out of the car in hopes that I could just reseal the intake and oil pan gaskets that were leaking. With your guys help I have tracked down the correct oil pan and intake gaskets and I think gasket wise I finally got all the gaskets.

With the exception of the rear main seal. Sooooo that leads me to my current problems. I have heard that the new rope seals are not as good as the old ones. What seal do you all recommend?

Also I figured with it being down this far I would put new bearings on the crank but for some reason (read I am an computer idiot) I cannot find any information on the tolerances acceptable for the crank. I would like to purchase some plasigage but without knowing the correct tolerances of the engine I cannot get the right thickness of plastigage. Do any of you know where I can find tolerance specs for this engine?

I am sure I have more questions but that seems to be the most pressing right now.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,028 Posts
This is the best rear main seal available! Do not buy anything else. I do not have the expertise to comment on your crank bearings.

Steve

·
Administrator & Tech Articles
52,833 Posts
I did not read all the way through this...But, thought it might be of help to you: Box

·
Premium Member
2,098 Posts