Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, the suspension in my 57 feels awful! I feel absolutely every bump, making for a scary ride. (feels like my tire is falling off though i know my tires are on just fine):sign0009:
I noticed some air lines going to my rear shocks. I'm very new to the world of suspension and would really appreciate some advice. Is there some tuning that i can do to these old parts to fix this issue or should i just buy a new setup? If i should buy new stuff what should i buy?

·
Administrator
50,519 Posts
Air shocks don`t have much give in them. They will feel very stiff and ride harsh. I ran them for years on my chevelle and my 57 both. Do you need the lift of the air shocks for your setup?
Terry

·
Administrator
50,519 Posts

·
Administrator & Tech Articles
55,746 Posts
Welcome to the sight Fevo....Recommend some Monroe Gasmatics and while your at it, install a shock bar.

·
Registered
3,198 Posts
you may need rear springs, hence the need for air shocks in some cases.
Certainly you could replace the shocks first and see how it sits.
From the looks of things, leaf springs are probably in order.

·
Trifive Automotive Electrical Wiring Expert
26,974 Posts
I suspect that you may need new rubber bushings on the front control arms and rear springs. Also, if the rear springs have never been rebuilt, take them apart, clean between the leaves and install new inserts between the leaves. Shocks may help, but there not a cure all.
You should be able to tell if the springs are sagging by letting all the air out of the rear shocks. Does it have traction bars? Is that the purpose of the bracket clamped around the rear spring? :confused0006:

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
thanks for all the info. I guess i should buy some new shocks and clean some leaf springs.

·
Registered
2,418 Posts