Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I’m new to all of this and need some advise. I just bought my wife’s grandfather's 4 door, straight 6, all original 57 Chevy Bel Air, that he bought new from the dealer in 1957. He has passed away and now I have questions on weather I should restore the car to original or resto mod it and put in all new reliable (V8) engine, drive train, breaks, steering, AC etc… What does everyone think is the best route to go with a car like this, keep the original old 6 banger in it or drop a V8 in it?
If it matters, the car will never be sold again and will be passed on to my kids. The car is in great shape for as old as it is, it runs pretty good, it’s been garage kept for its entire life, but it was a daily driver for 50 years and it needs some work. First off the breaks SUCK and the steering is very loose. The paint on the passenger side doors and drivers side front quarter panel is about two shades off due to an accident grandma got into in the 60’s or 70’s.
Thanks
-Dustin
Dustinmsprague.com

·
Registered
14,516 Posts
I’m new to all of this and need some advise. I just bought my wife’s grandfather's 4 door, straight 6, all original 57 Chevy Bel Air, that he bought new from the dealer in 1957. He has passed away and now I have questions on weather I should restore the car to original or resto mod it and put in all new reliable (V8) engine, drive train, brakes, steering, AC etc… What does everyone think is the best route to go with a car like this, keep the original old 6 banger in it or drop a V8 in it?