Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this message board......but need some technical assistance, Please.

My car isn't 55-57.....but the drivetrain is.

I bought a 1956 265 Power Pack drivetrain (Engine, Powerglide and Rearend).

It came out of a nicely restored '56 bel Air that went the modern Resto-rod route. The drivetrain is supposed to be and looks FRESH.

My question is this:

Does anyone have the stock measurment for a 1955-1957 Driveshaft..u-joint center to center?
Also, what type of oil/ trans. fluid does the old Cast Iron 'glide require? Any sources for filters, (does it have one?)

One more: Does anyone have experience putting the 55-57 Powerglide in a Non- Tri-five body, opposed to the other way around.

My car is a 1951 Chevy Deluxe Coupe, otherwise bone stock.

Sorry if this is posted in the wrong place.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
956 Posts
Not too many answers here. From me I mean.
The original owners manual says "Automatic Transmission Fluid Type A" bearing an AQ-ATF number. That information is celebrating its 50th birthday this year though.
I would wait on the driveshaft until after the other stuff is installed. Required length will most probably be different than a '56.
Is a '51 an open driveline or closed? Which springs would you use? Lots of questions. I seem to be asking more than I'm answering.
Pretty sure some one will jump in with more answers soon though.
Chevytalk.org has a forum for your year car if you are interested.
Welcome aboard and that sounds like a pretty neat swap if you pull it off.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Driveshaft......

Hello,
it's a 1951 Chevy Business coupe.
I installed the stock '56 Rearend....on the stock leaf springs. It doesn't line up perfectly... I will need to relocate the spring perches.
The engine is installed right up to the firewall.... the Glide is sitting on the stock crossmember.
Everything is aboutWhere it goes.