Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, time for a new vehicle, and I can't find one that meets my criteria. I've been driving a F-150 for 10 years. It's been a good truck, but things are starting to happen with it. I'm looking for a 2014 new car or truck , American brand name,that gets significantly better gas mileage than I get now (14-15 mpg city). I prefer a truck, but might settle for a car. Mustang 5.0 looks good, but only gets 15 mpg city.For me, these new hybrids just don't have that WOW factor. Do you guys have any suggestions? Thanks, David

·
Registered
3,571 Posts
I hear Ford's coming out with a CNG F150 next year.

·
Premium Member
5,232 Posts
Have you seen the ford rapture? (Truck) Looks good. Its different.:anim_25: bowtie-trifive :gba:

·
Registered
37,219 Posts
A new F150 or GM truck will give you a small boost in mileage compared to your old one. And both are nice trucks.

·
Registered
5,251 Posts
Well if you buy a new truck, there are a whole lot more 10 year old Chevys on the road than 10 year old Fords. Chevy has a better warranty and Used Chevys are worth more. The Chevy Equinox is a pretty nice ride also, with good fuel economy.

·
Registered
1,887 Posts
mustang 5.0 get 15 in the city. lol. weak sauce. no wonder i love those cars. as far as buying a new car. i like my 55, rebuildable and runs like a bat out of hell to the next gas station. yeah, raptors look pretty cool, got some good numbers for hp. are you a ford man or a chevy man?

yeah, used chevy's are worth more...especially 55's through 57's, lol.

·
LS Tech and Moderator
10,999 Posts
I don't like RAMS, but the new 2014 RAM diesel is rated around 25mpg hwy and 20mpg city. There V6 is rated high as well and is 300hp or so. It would be cheap initial and operation cost.

Do not get an ecoboost F150 my buddy just got his lemon law'ed. One of the first in the country for the acceleration problems when in certain conditions.

·