Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy Y'all!

I am a complete noob when it comes to painting. I just bought a 60 gallon IR compressor and a new Eastwood Concours spray gun and I'm piping it all up now. My question is not related to painting yet but rather prep. I've searched and searched and didn't find the answer or the answers may be changed if there are newer products out.

I just took possession of a 57 2-door Hardtop Bel Air yesterday and I am beginning the planning. The car is in awesome shape but I am still tearing it down completely. So finally...the question. I intend to work on all of this in my free time which amounts to about an hour or two most days. I plan to clean up a part and store it to paint a bunch of parts at one time. How should I treat them? Spray can primer? Some sort of oil? Examples include the hood latch, wheel skirts, truck lid hinges.

Thanks,

Aaron

The new car in front of my Garage/Workshop

Attachments

·
Registered
5,104 Posts
First of all congrats on the 57! The best advise I can offer would be to read a document from SPI titled "the perfect paint job". Southern polyurethanes inc. explains how to use their epoxy primer. It's much better than 1K prers in a can or even 2K primers you mix. Search online for it, it's easy to find.

·
Premium Member
50,811 Posts
TW is teaching me on the Vette....believe it or not, my biggest problem is the mask. It smothers me....:anim_25:
:gba:
bowtie-trifive

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
First of all congrats on the 57! The best advise I can offer would be to read a document from SPI titled "the perfect paint job". Southern polyurethanes inc. explains how to use their epoxy primer. It's much better than 1K prers in a can or even 2K primers you mix. Search online for it, it's easy to find.
Thanks Fiddy5. I found the document and I will be sure to use it when I get to lay the primer and painting.