Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
There was an ad in the paper for a 1957 Chevy Belair 4 door Sport sedan (hardtop) for $13,000.00 or best offer. I was hoping to see the car this weekend but the seller was not available. This is a Montana car so rust is not as big of a problem as it might be is some areas. I am not an expert but I do know how to decipher the VIN. The seller assures me that this is a factory original car with the exception that it has an older paint job. According to the seller this is equipped with 283, 4 barrel, 4.10:1 posi, 3 speed on the column with overdrive, dual exhaust with power pack. The engine has the old oil bath air cleaner and the original generator. The interior is reported to be tearing at the seams but otherwise ok - good original headliner. The owner did tell me that there is minor rust but that all the floor pans and trunk were fine. No radio, which I find odd but is no problem as one of my other hobbies is antique radio restoration and I have all the parts to repair any old 57 Chevy radio that I might find on the web. My question is that if this car is as it is claimed to be, is $13,000 a good buy? The car has been in storage for 20 years so I know that I will have to replace the tires, go through the breaks, replace and repair a number of things. So by the time I'm confident that the car is restored back to driving condition (body work and paint not included) I will be into the car another $3,000.00 (just a guess). I want something to drive and not a prize winner. Not planning on Frame-Off restoration just further rust prevention where possible. Is $16,000.00 too much? I know it is kind of a dumb question because I really don't know yet if the description is accurate but let's assume it is. Thank You

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
Hard to say without pics but I think closer to half the asking price is more realistic.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·