Chevy Tri Five Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am totally new to these cars, I have a 57 2 door bel air that I want to start messing with. Currently has a 350 and a T56 Viper trans, but I have a 454 that I am building for it and need to keep that in mind.

First question, how much better is the steering with a rack conversion vs a new tight box (steering box, easy boys)? The only experience I have with this is changing a loose worn out one on my old 73 mach 1 to a new quick ratio box and a new rag joint, it was night and day.

Second, with a 454 going in, am I asking for trouble with a rack vs a steering box? I have read several threads here, and there is a Milodon #30970 oil pan and pickup I would need, Sanderson block hugger headers (shorty or long tube??). What I cannot find info on is what motor mounts would I use with a 454 and rack?

Sorry for the noob questions, and they are probably all there if I keep searching but honestly there seems to be endless ways to achieve the same goal here so I need a push

·
Registered
35,565 Posts
First question, how much better is the steering with a rack conversion vs a new tight box (steering box, easy boys)?
My opinion, there's no reason to expect any difference in the feel of the steering. The feel of the steering is defined by the hydraulic control valve on the rack or box, and the valves are typically set up the same.

Besides that, it's usually more difficult to route a rack's steering shaft past the exhaust header or manifold than it is to get a steering box to clear the exhaust.

Only when you have an aftermarket frame or front clip that was designed for a rack does a rack become desirable. Rack conversions are just a lot of trouble and sometimes have negative consequences too.

·
Registered
5,741 Posts
NOT a 605.....

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Use a 500 box and move the engine an inch or so to the passenger side.