Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4,405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
O. K. - I'm a real novice when it comes to rear axle ratios and transmissions. I do know that the larger the number (4.11:1) , the higher the engine RPM's at a given speed and the smaller the number (2.56:1) the lower the engine RPM's at a given speed.

My 57 was originally powered by a 6 Cyl with a 3 speed manual transmission. The engine in it now is a 1963 283 with a 1963 Power Glide.

I think the rear axle is original to the car, which means it has a ratio of 3.55 to one, which I have not yet verified.

The 57 power glide axle had a ratio of 3.36 to one.

Questions:

1 - How bad is the 3.55 to one axle going to affect gas mileage/drive ability?
2 - Should I get a 3:36 to one power glide center section?
3 - Would a 2:56 to one get better gas mileage and would it lug the engine down too much? Not really wanting to drag race just cruse around.
4 - Will I have to change the odometer cable drive gears if I go to either of the lower number axle center section?

Would like to keep cruse RPM's under 2300

Thanks for suggestions and information on which way to go.

·
Premium Member
11,690 Posts