Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys, in my efforts to save a buck or two I'm considering "fabricating" this set up for a rear anti-sway bar - maybe, depending on the responses. The bar is a stock Chevy S-10 Blazer unit (4X4). Normally, it goes on the aft side of the differential. Due to tank, spare tire, and exhaust clearence issues, I plan to relocate it to the foreword side of the differential as shown. I'll make (2) bushings for either side of the frame that will be welded on then attach the bar. The one picture shows the upper potrion of the link attached to the frame using some nuts and washers to aquire desired/required spacing. Not being a suspension expert, my question is, is this a safe and sound idea? The best I can tell thus far there is no clearance issues with the bar hitting the differential in this location. As far as brake cables, etc. some minor re-location will be required. This will end up bing a $30 rear sway bar if it works. I do have a pocket kit installed. Thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,474 Posts
Ceewdee that is similar to the Hellwig sway bar for pocket springs.
The Hellwig bar is adjustable but the arms are about the same length as yours.
Yours looks good.
What year S10 is the sway bar from?

·
Registered
7,275 Posts
I agree that looks alot like my Helwig for mini-tub. But after I bought it I found one in my junk-pile off a 89 Z28 that looked like I could have fabbed it also.

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·