Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First--I'm a rookie at engine stuff. My 57 has 350 small block bored to 355 with mild cam and gear drive. Has HEI ignition; Had local shop time it with digital timing light; runs good for about 1 mile then starts missing, losing power, then dies. I had it re-timed again figuring the HEI distributor is getting knocked out of correct timing since in sits tight against firewall. Drove it down the road--same thing happens. Could I have a charging issue? Battery issue? I thought it might be a carb adjustment (Edelbrock)but it runs great for the first mile or so. Any help with starting to weed things out appreciated.

·
Registered
2,278 Posts
First--I'm a rookie at engine stuff. My 57 has 350 small block bored to 355 with mild cam and gear drive. Has HEI ignition; Had local shop time it with digital timing light; runs good for about 1 mile then starts missing, losing power, then dies.
Does it fire up again straight away or have you needed to tow back?
I had it re-timed again figuring the HEI distributor is getting knocked out of correct timing since in sits tight against firewall.
Was the timming out ? Did it need to be moved to re-time? If so then yes the distributor is the issue.
Drove it down the road--same thing happens.
What happens? does the distributor move out of position or is it fine ? Does it just quit like you turned off the ignition or does it cough and splutter then quit? Did it ever run correctly ? if Yes what has changed to develop the issues ?
Could I have a charging issue? Battery issue? I thought it might be a carb adjustment (Edelbrock)but it runs great for the first mile or so.
Without the answers to the above, it is hard to say. However i feel NO.