Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this is my first time on this site & thought id give it a try.

im building a 55 chevy gasser, i cut the subframe off right in front of the original steering box. (that way it is still in the stock location, with the bolt holes allready there)

im getting my straight axle through speedway & my question is :

Can i use my stock steering box or what should i do ? Im on a budget.

thanks for all your time & help:sign0020:

·
Registered
7,361 Posts
Welcome to trifive! I'll let the gasser guys answer your questions.

·
Registered
48 Posts
I used my stock box. I used one and a half sets of the steering arms. I used one on top on the driver side pointing back to meet up with the drag link and the other two on the bottom of the spindles pointing forward with my tie rod there. I have the "straight" axle with no drop and have no problem with bump steer or anything.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I used my stock box. I used one and a half sets of the steering arms. I used one on top on the driver side pointing back to meet up with the drag link and the other two on the bottom of the spindles pointing forward with my tie rod there. I have the "straight" axle with no drop and have no problem with bump steer or anything.
thank u for your time, was your steering box in the stock location on the frame ?

Love your car, hope to get pics posted soon

·
Registered
48 Posts
Yes. Steering box is in the stock location. Good luck!

·
Registered
3,216 Posts
how about a few more/clearer pictures ?

·
Registered
227 Posts
pullen65gto,
Are you saying that you retained the stock draglink, idler arm, and one tie rod connected to the driver side spindle? I had pondered doing this on mine, but decided to run my draglink from the pitman to the right side spindle like a F*rd ( crossover steer ). If you have any pix of this, I'm curious to see it done.

·
Registered
3,216 Posts