Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I changed over to front disc brakes, bled the master, power bled 8 psi, starting with left rear, right rear, right front, left front. Bled each wheel about 8-9 times. Even after this I keep getting inital bubbles After putting the master cyl. cover on for the night I pumped the brake pedal maybe 2 inch from floor but not rock hard and thats all I get.
Could I have a bad master? I am loosing my hair on this one.

·
Registered
2,481 Posts
A quick few things to check...make sure your rod from the booster to the M/C is long enough or not too long. Make sure your rod from your pedal to the M/C is long enough or not too long. Tap on the side of the calipers with a plastic mallet when you are bleeding to dislodge and air.

·
Premium Member
7,740 Posts
I changed over to front disc brakes, bled the master, power bled 8 psi, starting with left rear, right rear, right front, left front. Bled each wheel about 8-9 times. Even after this I keep getting inital bubbles After putting the master cyl. cover on for the night I pumped the brake pedal maybe 2 inch from floor but not rock hard and thats all I get.
Could I have a bad master? I am loosing my hair on this one.
Could be a bad mater cyl., but usually the brakes will pump up, and then bleed of with your foot still holding pressure on the brake pedal as fluid seeps bye the O rings or rubber cups.

I also had a hard time getting my brakes to finally pump up when i switched over to disc brakes also.

Maybe a stupid question, but did you bench bleed the master before you installed it? I know you stated you bled it already, just making sure you did it the correct way....:anim_25:

Rick

·
Registered
1,082 Posts