Chevy Tri Five Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Search Archives

Sections

Never a dull moment in East Kentucky, I sold my Harley and bought my 55, I hope you all take note that this was not one of our ridgerunners!...lol

Monday August 14, 2006

Motorcycle driver cited for hitting 120 m.p.h.

BY MARY MUSIC

STAFF WRITER

A sportbike stunt man sponsored by McCoy MotorSports was arrested Wednesday after a 25-mile high-speed chase through Pike County.

Hazard native William Albert Dixon, 24, of Orlando, Florida, reportedly exceeded speeds of 120 mph hour and successfully eluded police officials from three agencies before his motorcycle ran out of gas and he and his passenger hitched a ride to the McCoy MotorSports parking lot.

“It was probably the most dangerous, fastest pursuit that I've engaged in since I've been a police officer,” said Kentucky Vehicle Enforcement Officer Keith Justice.

Dixon is being held at the Pike County Detention Center on five counts of first-degree wanton endangerment, reckless driving, first-degree fleeing and evading authorities, and four other traffic violations. Four of the wanton endangerment charges were filed on behalf of officers with the KVE, Pikeville Police Department and Kentucky State Police, who pursued Dixon in the approximate 25-mile chase from Rt. 3495, near the Landmark Inn in Pikeville, to Rt. 194 in the Kimper area. The other wanton endangerment charge was filed on behalf of Dixon's passenger, Florida native Ilza Skrzek, a crew member with the Metric Revolution TV Tour, a MetricTV program that was filming a bike build-off competition Wednesday in Pikeville.