Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I work in collision repair for a living, and I'm fortunate to be able to attend classes to stay current on new products, new designs, etc... for these ever-increasing technologically-advanced vehicles that are out there these days.
Anyway, it was an electrical diagnostic/case work study regarding a few different vehicles, each with their own diagnostic challenges.
I'll admit I'm guilty of spending some money at harbor freight to buy some things that I just can't justify spending elsewhere. I mean, we all know there is some plain old junk that we all know to stay away from at HF. Well, here's another example as to where to draw the line.
GM has found through testing that HF is selling fuses that are nowhere near their intended amperage protection-for example, 15 amp fuses that will pass 90 AMPS BEFORE BLOWING!!
What? HF selling even junk fuses? Yes, we all know the answer to that, but I thought this was pertinent information worth passing on to my fellow tri-fivers. Buy name brand fuses to keep your tri-five from a meltdown.

·
Administrator & Tech Articles
55,746 Posts
Thanks Jay.....I'm on my third aluminum jack in as many months from HF :eek:

·
Administrator
50,519 Posts
Doesn`t surprise me at all. Some things from HF are worth it though, but no sense in burning up your ride over a couple of bucks.
Terry

·
Registered
38,701 Posts
Not a new alert, but posting that one again is good.

I've seen those fuses in their store, they look so bad most wouldn't expect them to work. I guess they probably sell a bunch anyway because they are so cheap.

·
Registered
13,220 Posts
Thanks for the heads up.......check and see if it says "made in China." If it say that, I'll put it back even if I have to do without.
Do you shop at Home Depot or Lowes. A very high percentage of their stuff is made in China too.