Chevy Tri Five Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
6,404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty sure I'm going to take out and either rebuild or replace my water pump in my stock V-8 1957 Bel Air but I can't find any good diagrams or photos to help me along. The Assembly Manual doesn't seem to even have a diagram of the water pump.

Is this such a simple job that "no pics are necessary" is about the only help I'll ever find?

·
Registered
4,668 Posts
It is a fairly simple job. Before you loosen the fan belt loosen the bolts on the fan blades. Remove the fan and fan belt and pulley. Two bolts on each side and the water pump should fall off. 1/2 inch wrench for fan bolts and 9/16 for water pump bolts. Drain your coolant first.
Dave

·
Registered
6,404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Dave. When you say "loosen the bolts on the fan blades," are you saying I should just loosen them or take them out? Sorry for the simple question, but I've never done this before and I don't want to do something that I will regret.

·
Registered
6,404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks again Dave! I'll let you know how it goes. Maybe I can get to it tomorrow or maybe not until later in the week.

1,544 Posts
water pump

Replacing your water pump is fairly simple, rebuilding it yourself is something else, generally it's the seal that goes bad and the pully must be removed in order to remove the impeller shaft to gain access to the seal, as cheap as water pumps are I suggest you go to your nearest parts store and buy one either new or rebuilt.

·
Administrator
49,371 Posts
Mike changing the water pump isn`t real hard or too involved. Drain the radiator first and then from there its pretty easy. Be sure to put a little rtv on the bolt threads when reinstalling them. It bolts on like the one in my pics on page 15 or 16.
Terry

·
Registered
6,404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks Terry, looks like I should be able to handle this one.

·
Registered
6,404 Posts