Chevy Tri Five Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm somewhat new to the car rebuild process however I know enough to get myself in trouble:)

I have a 55 Bel Air w/a 350 trying to figure out what carb this is, the number on the side are, 7044118 and here's a picture.
Thanks!
Lee

Attachments

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yup

Yup it's a 2 barrel for sure. I called NAPA w/the carb# and they did confirm it was a Rochester.
I've never rebuilt a carb before, how difficult is it??

·
Administrator
9,085 Posts
Rebuilding a carb is fairly easy, especially a 2 barrel carb..

I am sure there are videos on youtube that will help.

Otis :)

·
RIP: 10-27-2018
3,279 Posts
Yup it's a 2 barrel for sure. I called NAPA w/the carb# and they did confirm it was a Rochester.
I've never rebuilt a carb before, how difficult is it??
Its a later rochester 2gc. Id say mid 70's.

Ive got one in the shop just like it. The top opening is slightly larger than the earlier ones. Rebuilding is not difficult, just requires patience and attention to detail. As the man said, watch the youtube videos. There is a series on there on just rochester 2 barrels.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RTf2yrGcA4

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Rebuilt Carb done but...

well, I wasn't able to rebuild my old Rochester carb because the last person who rebuilt it, had their way with it on the inside causing it to be impossible to rebuild. But....I was able to purchase a rebuild carb from O'Rileys and just finished installing it:)

Question:
When I start her up, she runs rough and wont idle and the only way I can keep her going to to keep the gas on at about 2k rpm's (just guessing at the rpm's). But even w/the higher rpm's, she seems to be choking out and I just don't know how to adjust a carb to run properly.
Fyi, I put an electric fuel pump in that pumps 5-7psi (I wonder if this is a problem)

Any input is greatly appreciated:)

·